Heritage holds Annual Meeting and Volunteer Recognition Event

The Heritage Area Agency on Aging’s Advisory Council held its Annual Meeting and Volunteer Recognition Event at The Hotel at Kirkwood Center on the Kirkwood Community College campus in Cedar Rapids on May 24, 2012. This event provides updates from the agency and honors members of the community that are nominated for awards by their peers.

Outstanding Senior Volunteer award winners by county include:

  • Linda Long of Belle Plaine
  • Shirley Geadelmann of Clarence
  • Richard Jacoby of Victor
  • Marilyn and Richard Jensen of Coralville
  • Jackie Vacek of Olin
  • John McDonough of Cedar Rapids
  • Leroy Powell of Wellman

Johnson County Livable Community for Successful Aging’s Communication Committee received the Program/Project: Service to Seniors award, Sheriff Robert Rotter of Iowa County received the award for Outstanding Public Official, the Retired & Senior Volunteer Program of Johnson County won the Outstanding Initiatives in Aging award, the Advocate of the Year award went to Robert Welsh of Iowa City and the Outstanding Senior Volunteer in Area ten was awarded to Richard Jacoby of Victor.  

The Heritage Agency plans, coordinates and funds a variety of human services programs that serve the 70,000+ older adults who reside in Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn, and Washington Counties.  For more information on the Heritage Agency call 1-800-332-5934.


News Type: